User Tools

Site Tools



This shows you the differences between two versions of the page.

Link to this comparison view

base:different_cpu_types [2015-04-17 04:31]
base:different_cpu_types [2015-04-17 04:31] (current)
Line 1: Line 1:
 +====== Different CPU types ======
 +The Rockwell data booklet 29651N52 (technical information about R65C00 microprocessors, dated October 1984), lists the following differences between NMOS R6502 microprocessor and CMOS R65C00 family:
 + 1. Indexed addressing across page boundary.
 +        NMOS: Extra read of invalid address.
 +        CMOS: Extra read of last instruction byte.
 + 2. Execution of invalid op codes.
 +        NMOS: Some terminate only by reset. Results are undefined.
 +        CMOS: All are NOPs (reserved for future use).
 + 3. Jump indirect, operand = XXFF.
 +        NMOS: Page address does not increment.
 +        CMOS: Page address increments and adds one additional cycle.
 + 4. Read/modify/write instructions at effective address.
 +        NMOS: One read and two write cycles.
 +        CMOS: Two read and one write cycle.
 + 5. Decimal flag.
 +        NMOS: Indeterminate after reset.
 +        CMOS: Initialized to binary mode (D=0) after reset and interrupts.
 + 6. Flags after decimal operation.
 +        NMOS: Invalid N, V and Z flags.
 +        CMOS: Valid flag adds one additional cycle.
 + 7. Interrupt after fetch of BRK instruction.
 +        NMOS: Interrupt vector is loaded, BRK vector is ignored.
 +        CMOS: BRK is executed, then interrupt is executed.
base/different_cpu_types.txt ยท Last modified: 2015-04-17 04:31 (external edit)